Jonathan Wilkinson
Hon. Jonathan Wilkinson
Member of Parliament for North Vancouver
COVID-19: Stricter rules for foreign nationals transiting through Canada to Alaska
July 30, 2020

Today, the Canada Border Services Agency announced that stricter rules and additional entry conditions will be imposed on travellers transiting through Canada to Alaska for a non-discretionary purpose.

As of July 31, 2020, at 12:01 am (PDT), all foreign nationals transiting through Canada to Alaska:

must enter Canada at one of the five identified CBSA ports of entry:

Abbotsford-Huntingdon (British Columbia)
Coutts (Alberta)
Kingsgate (British Columbia)
North Portal (Saskatchewan)
Osoyoos (British Columbia)

will be allowed a reasonable period of stay to carry out the transit;

will be limited to travel within Canada using the most direct route from the port of entry to the intended port of entry of exit, while avoiding all national parks, leisure sites and tourism activities; and,

will be required, before entering the U.S., to report to the nearest CBSA port of entry to confirm their exit from Canada.

Read more of the CBSA's news release:

Main office - North Vancouver
310 Esplanade E Suite 201
North Vancouver, British Columbia
V7L 1A4


Show Map

Hill Office
House of Commons
Ottawa, Ontario
K1A 0A6


Show Map